Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/thegeekm/forumsx.net/includes/functions_bbcodeparse.php on line 592

Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/thegeekm/forumsx.net/includes/functions_bbcodeparse.php on line 592

Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/thegeekm/forumsx.net/includes/functions_bbcodeparse.php on line 592
ForumsX - Custom Screen Resolution
ForumsX
The forums of StarCraftLive.net


top_calendar.gif top_members.gif top_faq.gif top_search.gif top_home.gif    

vb_bullet.gif ForumsX > Video Game Discussion > StarCraft II Discussion > Custom Screen Resolution
Search this Thread:

newthread reply StarCraft II Discussion
prev.gif Previous Thread | Next Thread next.gif
Linear Hybrid Threaded

Custom Screen Resolution  
folder icon   08-13-2010, 06:37 PM
Custom Screen Resolution Post #1
Roof Shingles

Gargoyle


Avatar

Joined: Jan 29 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,173 pos

Hey All,

Just thought I'd let you know that you can use custom resolutions in SC2. For me this was very important because I hook up my box to a large screen SONY TV and at 1920x1080 (or 1280x720) the edge of the screen goes beyond the edge of the TV (so I could not see the amount of resources etc.). And I was having this problem with all the resolutions in the game. I don't usually have this problem with other games 'cause there is nothing at the edge of the screen, or I can change to a resolution where I can see everything.

So anyway, if you are interested go to your StarCraft II folder in My Documents and open the Variables.txt file in a text editor. Then change the height and width lines to the resolution that you want. However, I think you can only use resolutions that are 4:3 or 16:9, 'cause some resolutions didn't work. So shit like the image below can't work anymore (it was possible in beta though).

__________________
Go Leafs Go!
Posts: 1,173 pos
off.gif profile.gif sendpm.gif email.gif home.gif find.gif buddy.gif edit.gif reply.gif
folder icon   08-13-2010, 09:20 PM
Post #2
Planet_Buster

Demi-God


Avatar

Joined: Sep 06 2001
Location: not on any map
Posts: 9,784 pos
Strawberry on the Shortcake

That's pretty cool. Thanks for the heads up! If anyone here ever hooks it up to our big HDTV we'll have to do this. ...in fact, I'm now inspired to do that just to see what it looks like on the big screen.

__________________
Just thought you should know.
Posts: 9,784 pos
off.gif profile.gif sendpm.gif email.gif find.gif buddy.gif im_aim.gif edit.gif reply.gif
folder icon   08-14-2010, 01:31 AM
Post #3
the12thman

Night Elf Ranger


Joined: Feb 07 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,688 pos

Mine is hooked up to my HDTV and I didn't have that problem, but thanks for the heads up if I get a new one.

__________________
I eat robots for breakfast with syrup- A(CBRT)
Fightin Texas Aggie Class of 2008 Whoop!

AIM: the12thman 11
Posts: 1,688 pos
off.gif profile.gif sendpm.gif email.gif find.gif buddy.gif im_aim.gif edit.gif reply.gif
Return to Top  

newthread reply StarCraft II Discussion
prev.gif Previous Thread | Next Thread next.gif
Linear Hybrid Threaded

printer.gif Show Printable Version
sendtofriend.gif Email this Page
Rate this Thread:

Forum Jump:

Forum Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is Off
vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On

All times are GMT -5 hours. The time now is 05:41 PM.

ForumsX > Video Game Discussion > StarCraft II Discussion > Custom Screen Resolution

< Contact Us - http://www.forumsx.net - Archive >
Return to Top

Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.0 Beta 7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.